Holiday Bug

The holiday bug bit me yesterday- so I made sugar cookies from homemade dough that I had refrigerated, and some Tollhouse babies- break and baaake baby!!  :D

DSCN2478

DSCN2479 DSCN2480

I have a gas oven, so it gets rull hot…I put the chocolate chippers in for 9 minutes and almost burned them!  No fear, still good.

AND NOW…the highly anticipated- Flat Out Pizza!!  Omg- in the words of Chris Parnell and Andy Samberg…this thing is crazy-delicious.

DSCN2482

I used my homegirl Bender’s fantastic “lazy chef” creation- the Humbecue Pizza!!  WOW- the hummus/BBQ sauce combo is outta this world, you gotta try it!  I baked the Flat Out for 7 min at 350 degrees, then spread on some hummus, BBQ sauce, shredded chicken heated with BBQ sauce, tomatoes, red onions and brocc and put it back in the oven for 10-12 minutes.  The Flat-out got all crispy and hot, so good!

DSCN2484 DSCN2485

My one minor problem was the veggies- I put them on the pizza raw, so they weren’t very flavorful or roasted or anything, should I roast the veggies first??  Or put EVOO on them maybe?  I’ll gladly keep workin’ on it.

DSCN2486

Dessert was rice cakes, PB and B…perhaps some more cookies.

I just tore myself out of bed for some cereal.

  DSCN2491

I got the Dark Knight at blockbuster yesterday, I’m so stoked to watch it later!  I’m really bad (read: cheap) at seeing movies in the theatre even though it’s fun to see epic movies like that on the big screen.  Movie theatres always remind me of like, 7th grade, I swear I was there every weekend, because that’s the only place you could “hang out ” with your friends un-chaperoned, or the only place 7th grade boys knew existed for a date :D.  Catch ya later!

22 Responses to Holiday Bug

  1. eatingbender says:

    Ahh you tried my Humbecue-style pizza! Yay! I’m glad you liked the combo – I really do think it’s awesome. As for the veggies, I think you’re right – roasting them first might help!

    I love break and bake cookies! Although I haven’t made them in a while. My favorites were the ones that they used to have where you “slice” and bake because I could never slice quite right so there was always some leftover to EAT!

    So true about the movie theater and 7th grade – I thought I was soooooo cool back then. Oh boy. I hope you like the Dark Knight. I saw it TWICE in the theater and am in love with Christian Bale. Heath Ledger did a great job, too!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Hooray for major baking and for Miss Eating Bender’s pizza!! Definitely roast the vegetables first.

    Haha yes – the movie theater was THE hang-out spot in 7th grade :-D

  3. Those cookies look sooo good! And great job with the pizza!

  4. ksgoodeats says:

    The cookies look great, girl! As does your flat out pizza – aren’t they great?!

    I want to see the Dark Knight but I just can not sit through movies…ever! I get to antsy and find myself doing something else! Hope you enjoy it!!

    For the record, I’m marrying Andy Samberg just so you know ;)

  5. Yum. Never tried Bender’s combo, but definitely will soon as I have all the ingredients including the Flat Out bread at home. I would try lightly steaming, roasting, or stir-frying the veggies first. 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees will not cook them. Sounds so delicious – can’t wait to try it. Hope you enjoyed the Dark Night!

  6. Bridget says:

    yummy yummy cookies!! That pizza looks fabulous! I’ve gotta try the BBQ hummus combo…I mean what could possibly be wrong with those two together. I think I would roast the veggies beforehand…veggies take a long time to cook…esp broccoli!

    Oh, and I added you to my blogroll :) Enjoy the movie, its Awesome!!

  7. Julz says:

    OMG Movie Theatres TOTALLY remind me of 7th grade!!! I love that you said that! (We’re secret Lovers, obvi.) I used to LOVE giggling MY tush off in the VVVERRRRRYYY back row with my girlfriends and we’d put our feet up and just be totally clueless and silly and stupid :) I want to do that again like right now. Caroline you rock my socks for that lil memory :) Mmmmwah!

  8. jenngirl says:

    Beautiful cookies, beautiful pizza…I’ve GOT to try Jenn’s recipe. I bet roasting the veggies would make it even more delicious!

    enjoy your night! :)

  9. Lindsay says:

    awesome pizza creation :)

  10. biz319 says:

    Thanks for your well wishes! And I want your snowman mug, thanks!

  11. Erica says:

    yayyyyyyyyyyyyyy for the flat out pizza and cookie baking. Oh yum yum. I am real cheap about movies too! Josh and I rarely go to the movie theater…we wait until they come out on video and then pay $1 to get them from red box!

  12. Erin says:

    I’m totes cheap too. We go to the movies like every six years!
    I think roasting the veg and just seasoning them with s & p might help. That looks beautiful!
    Um, Rob just brought in your package. OH GIRL! You are THE BEST! THANK YOU SO MUCH!! I love our shared taste in music too. :) Not enough hip hop lovers in the blog world!

  13. Kristie says:

    I always end up missing out on the epic movies at the theatres. It’s so sad! Theatres are darn expensive though… luckily the last several times I’ve gone I’ve had certificates and/or friends who work there so I’ve seen movies for free :)

    I totally ate way too many cookies today. And I’m also completely drooling over that pizza. I’ve wanted to make one since I first saw Jenn feature the “humbecue”. BBQ sauce goes with everything.

  14. Maggie says:

    I love wrap pizzas – looks delish!

  15. Caroline says:

    Yum! Your pizzas look so bountiful and nutritious! I just made a tortilla pizza the other day, and I just sauteed the veggies with some garlic for a few minutes before placing it atop the pizza. I hope it works for you!

  16. bobbi says:

    love all the treats, and love the Tamale party!!!! I need to make them sometime I am SPANISH!!!! lol

  17. Sharon says:

    MMMmmmm, everything looks so delicious – COOKIES!!

  18. caitlin says:

    the dark knight is a really good movie!! enjoy!

  19. Happy Holidays! :D

    Next year I am so baking! This year I just didn’t have a chance to. We don’t go to the movies either. It’s too expensive and too many rude people nowadays.

    Glad you like the BBQ sauce! Man that stuff is good!

    In middle school our “hangout” was the roller-rink. My skates were white with blue wheels. :D

  20. Amanda says:

    Your cookies look awesome! Have a merry Christmas!

  21. Alana says:

    The DArk Knight is so good I saw it twice in theaters…I love christian Bale and Heath Ledger though. I just bought it for myself on dvd. Did you like it?

  22. […] read about Eating Bender’s brilliant Humbeque pizza over at Banana Cabana, and this was my quickie version.  I slapped some hummus and Trader Joe’s BBQ sauce on a […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

